Eligible Assets 

The Central Bank of Ireland is responsible for reporting eligible assets listed on the Irish Stock Exchange to the ECB. Assets are considered eligible for credit operations when their inclusion in the list of eligible assets has been published by the ECB. The updated list is made public each day at 18:00 hours (CET time). In order for an asset to become eligible, it must first fulfil the eligibility criteria approved by the ECB. These are outlined in the Eurosystem General Documentation which can be downloaded here.

Single framework for eligible assets

This single framework for eligible assets (also referred to as the "Single List") came into effect on 1 January 2007 and replaces the two-tier system which had been in place from the start of Economic and Monetary Union.

The single framework comprises two distinct asset classes - marketable assets and non-marketable assets.

No distinction is made between the two asset classes with regard to the quality of the assets and their eligibility for the various types of Eurosystem monetary policy operations, except that non-marketable assets are not used by the Eurosystem for outright transactions. The assets eligible for Eurosystem monetary policy operations can also be used as underlying assets for intraday credit.

Information Release 10/2/2012

Further to our announcement of 9 February 2012 , "Eligibility Criteria for Additional Credit Claims", the Central Bank of Ireland has issued the below notice regarding the eligibility criteria for additional credit claims.


Queries concerning eligible assets listed in Ireland can be addressed to eligibleassets@centralbank.ie or

Eligible Assets Unit
Financial Markets Department
Central Bank of Ireland
PO Box 559
Dame Street
Dublin 2
Fax +353-1-6716042