Generation €uro Sligo students fly the flag for Ireland at the ECB in Frankfurt


Five students from Summerhill College, Sligo have represented Ireland at the international final of the Generation €uro Students’ Award 2017.

Eoin McGloin, Luke Hamilton,Ray Solano, Oisín Fitzgerald and Seán Ballantine visited the European Central Bank in Frankfurt to take part in a series of workshops and events after they won the national competition at the Central Bank of Ireland in March.

The group, who visited Germany with their teacher Dervilla Casey and Sinead McKenna, from the Central Bank's Communications Division, met ECB President Mario Draghi and Governors from other euro area central banks including Central Bank of Ireland Governor Philip R. Lane as part of the visit.

The Generation €uro Students’ Award for transition and fifth year students is an euro area-wide initiative organised by ECB and participating national central banks across the euro area.

The national competition consists of three rounds including an online quiz, a group essay and a presentation by three finalist teams to a senior panel at the Central Bank of Ireland. See our Generation €uro section.