

Brexit Task Force

Terms of Reference

12 February 2018

ESTABLISHMENT &	The Brexit Task Force (BTF) was established on a permanent basis, by the	
APPROVAL	Financial Stability Committee (FSC) of the Central Bank of Ireland (the	
	Central Bank), with effect from 1 August 2016. The Terms of Reference are	
	approved by the FSC.	
PURPOSE	The BTF is established at the request of the FSC to monitor and assess	
	developments arising from the United Kingdom referendum decision to	
	exit the European Union (Brexit).	
SCOPE &	The Task Force conducts expert assessments of Brexit-related risks arising	
RESPONSIBILITIES	within each of the subject areas defined by the divisional membership of	
	the BTF and facilitates information sharing across divisions.	
	The BTF facilitates the formulation of an integrated Central Bank approach	
	to dealing with challenges arising from Brexit.	
	The Task Force maintains on-going interaction with the Department of	
	Finance and the Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI). This inter-	
	agency interaction was established during the pre-referendum analysis	
	stage along with engagement with other relevant external parties such as	
	the ECB and other key international bodies.	
	The Task Force prepares a quarterly report for the Central Bank's	
	Commission and the FSC. Additionally, a redacted version is published on	
	the Central Bank's website in the interest of transparency.	
	The Chair also leads the Central Bank's representation on the inter-agency	
	Brexit Contact Group.	
CHAIR	The Chair of the Task Force is Mark Cassidy, Director of Economics and	
	Statistics.	
	In the unavoidable absence of the Chair, the Head of the Financial Stability	
	Division (designated as Vice-Chair) will carry out the responsibilities of the	
	Chair.	
MEMBERSHIP	The Task Force comprises members across relevant areas of the Central	
	Bank. Separate to the roles individually specified below, these are typically	
	the designated Brexit leads/contact persons from each of the following	
	divisions:	
	1 Diverton of Fernancies C Statistics on Chair	
	1. Director of Economics & Statistics, as Chair	
	2. Head of Financial Stability Division, as Vice-Chair	
	3. Special Advisor, Policy & Risk	

	4. Advisor to the Deputy Governor, Central Banking (GSD)	
	5. Representative of Asset Management Supervision Division (AMSD)	
	6. Representative of Asset Management: Authorisations and	
	Inspections Division (AMAI)	
	7. Representative of Banking Supervision: Supervision Division (BSSD)	
	8. Representative of Consumer Protection Directorate (CPD)	
	9. Representative of Financial Markets Division (FMD)	
	10. Representative of Financial Risks and Governance Policy (FRG)	
	11. Representative of Irish Economic Analysis (IEA)	
	12. Representative of International Relations (IR)	
	13. Representative of Securities Markets Supervision Division (SMSD)	
	14. Representative of Insurance Analytics (INSA)	
	15. Representative of Markets Policy Division (MPD)	
	16. Representative of Organisational Risk Division (ORD)	
	17. Representative of Supervisory Risk Division (SRD)	
	18. Representative of Payment and Securities Settlement Division	
	(PSSD)	
	19. Representative of Resolution Division (RES)	
	20. Representative of Registry of Credit Unions (RCU)	
	21. Staff member from Financial Stability Division (FSD) as Secretary	
	and FSD staff as Secretariat	
	The quorum for a meeting of the Brexit Task Force to proceed is the presence of at least nine separate divisional representatives.	
REPORTING TO	The Task Force will report to the FSC and to the Central Bank's	
KEP OKTING TO	·	
REPORTING FROM	Commission at a quarterly frequency. The Task Force will receive reports from the divisional representatives, which comprise its membership.	
REPORTING FROM		
	which comprise its membership.	
	Any other groups within the Central Bank that are examining Brexit shou	
	report their findings to the Task Force.	
ESCALATION PROCESS	The Chair will bring any matters that require escalation for	
	consideration/decision to the FSC and/or the Central Bank's Commission.	
	It will be for the Chair to decide what matters are brought for escalation;	
	however, the Task Force may advise the Chair to do so. The Chair will	
	report back to the Task Force, in a timely manner, the outcome of the	
	escalation process.	
SECRETARY &	Ellen Ryan of the Financial Stability Division (FSD) acts as Secretary to the	
SECRETARIAT	Task Force. The Secretariat to the Task Force (Ellen Ryan, Sofia Velasco	
	and Shane Byrne) is provided out of FSD. The Secretariat stores all of the	
	relevant documentation for the Task Force.	

MEETINGS	The Task Force shall meet quarterly and as otherwise required. An annual
	schedule of meetings shall be prepared by the Task Force Secretariat and
	circulated to members in advance.
AGENDA	A draft agenda will be circulated in advance and a final agenda agreed at the meeting.
	Members of the Task Force may suggest items for inclusion on the agenda.
	The Chair will propose the draft agenda for adoption. All items coming
	before the Task Force should have clear sponsorship and authorship
	assigned and identified.
MINUTES	Summaries of meetings will be circulated to members of the Task Force
	after the meeting takes place and will be agreed at the next meeting, or by
	written procedure if necessary.
PROCEDURES	The Task Force is coordinated by FSD, with Mark Cassidy (Director of
	Economics and Statistics) acting as Chair, and Ellen Ryan, Sofia Velasco, and
	Shane Byrne (FSD) acting as the Secretariat.
	Retention of summaries and papers for each meeting are managed by the Secretariat.
	The Terms of Reference will be reviewed on an annual basis or more frequently if required. (The Central Bank's General Secretariat Division will be notified of revisions to the Terms of Reference.)

Signed: [Mark Cassidy]	Date: <u>12 February 2018</u>
Chair	

Date for next review: February 2019