Banknotes and Coins

The euro is the official currency of the Eurozone countries comprising 20 of the 27 member states of the European Union, serving more than 350 million Europeans.

The Central Bank of Ireland issues euro currency into circulation in accordance with the principles and rules of the Eurosystem. Having an adequate supply of cash in the economy is part of an effective payments system and protects the best interests of consumers. The exclusive right to issue cash into circulation and the organisation of the national cash cycle are key responsibilities of the Central Bank of Ireland.

Banknotes and coins are issued to a very strict and high standard of quality established for the Eurosystem. The Central Bank's ISO accredited currency operations are key to the availability, integrity, security and quality of the euro in Ireland. Maintaining the integrity and quality of the euro is key to maintaining the public's confidence in the currency.

Find out more about banknotes and coins

Help and FAQs