Euro Banknotes

The Europa Series

€100 and €200 Banknotes

The new €100 and €200 banknotes will enter circulation together across the euro area on 28 May 2019. The €100 and €200 banknotes are the last two denominations of the Europa series of euro banknotes. The Europa series banknotes have several new and enhanced security features as well as a fresh look.

The Europa series retains the main picture elements and colour scheme used in the first series of euro banknotes, while the "Ages and styles" theme showing architectural styles from different periods of Europe's cultural history has been modified slightly.

€100 banknote from Europa Series

€200 banknote from Europa Series

Read more about banknote security features.

€50 Banknote

The Europa series €50 banknote came into circulation on 4 April 2017.

The second series of euro banknotes takes its name from Europa, a figure from Greek mythology, whose portrait can be seen in both the watermark and the hologram of the new banknotes.

€50 banknote from Europa Series

Find out more about the enhanced security features by watching this YouTube video.

ECB Ends Production and Issuance of €500 Banknote

ECB has decided to discontinue production and issuance of €500 banknote.

€500 banknote from Europa Series

On 4 May 2016, the ECB Governing Council decided that the €500 banknote will be excluded from the Europa series and the issuance of this denomination will be stopped around the end of 2018.

Euro area NCBs will provide their customers until and including 26 January 2019 with €500 banknotes. After the issuance stop, the €500 banknote will remain legal tender and can continue to be used as a means of payment and store of value. Commercial parties (such as banks, cash-in-transit companies, bureaux de change, etc) are allowed to recirculate €500 banknotes.

The €500 banknote, like the other denominations of euro banknotes, will always retain its value and can be exchanged at the national central banks of the Eurosystem for an unlimited period of time. The Central Bank of Ireland provides a facility for the exchange of high value euro currency banknotes at our public office in North Wall Quay (limited number of notes permitted per transaction).

Issuance of Banknotes

The Central Bank issues the euro currency into circulation in accordance with the principles and rules of the Eurosystem. Having an adequate supply of quality cash in the economy as part of an effective payments system, protects the best interests of consumers. There are seven different denominations of euro banknotes: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500.

All the notes are legal tender throughout the euro area.

View information about euro banknotes.

Security of Banknotes

Euro Banknotes are issued to a very strict and high standard of quality established for the Eurosystem. Maintaining the integrity and quality of the euro is key to maintaining the public’s confidence in the currency.

View information about the security features of euro banknotes.