ESMA Guidelines and Recommendations

ESMA appoints new chairs to four Standing Committees

ESMA Guidelines and Recommendations

Date: 19 November 2018

On 7 November 2018, the Board of Supervisors of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) appointed the following individuals to serve as chairs of its standing committees:

·         Carmine Di Noia, Commissioner of the Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa (CONSOB), Italy, will chair the Committee for Economic and Markets Analysis;

·         Christopher Buttigieg, Director of the Securities and Markets Supervision Unit at the Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA), will chair the Data Standing Committee;

·         Martin Moloney, Head of Markets Policy Division at the Central Bank of Ireland (CBI)  will chair the Investment Management Standing Committee; and  

·         Merel van Vroonhoven, Chair of the Autoriteit Financiële Markten (AFM), Netherlands will chair the Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee.

The standing committees are expert groups drawn from ESMA staff and the national competent authorities for securities markets regulation in the Member States, and are responsible for the development of policy in their respective areas.

The appointments of the chairs to the Data, Investment Management and Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee are effective immediately for a period of two years until 30 October 2020. While the new chair of the Committee for Economic and Markets Analysis replaces the previous chair, effective immediately, and will complete the current term which ends on 30 September 2019.