Legislation applicable to Minimum Competency 

The principal legal provisions under which persons may be required to possess appropriate knowledge and skill are listed below.  The legal instruments can be found on  www.irishstatutebook.ie, users should note the disclaimer on the Irish Statute Book website. The following list is not exhaustive and is intended to serve as a general guide only.


  • Central Bank Supervision and Enforcement Act 2013
  • Central Bank Reform Act 2010
  • Consumer Credit Act 1995
  • Investment Intermediaries Act 1995
  • Central Bank Act 1989
  • Central Bank Act 1997

 Statutory Instruments

  • S.I. No. 142 of 2016 European Union (Consumer Mortgage Credit Agreements) Regulations 2016
  • S.I. No. 60 of 2007 European Communities (Markets in Financial Instruments) Regulations 2007
  • S.I. No. 13 of 2005 European Communities (Insurance Mediation) Regulations 2005
  • S.I. No. 359 of 2004 European Communities (Non-Life Insurance) Framework Regulations 1994
  • S.I. No. 360 of 2004 European Communities (Life Assurance) Framework Regulations 1994