New Chairperson of Takeover Panel Announced

19 October 2016 Press Release

The Governor of the Central Bank of Ireland, Philip Lane, has announced the re-appointment of Mr Denis McDonald SC, as Chairperson of the Irish Takeover Panel.  Mr McDonald’s appointment is effective from today, Wednesday 19 October and is for a three-year period in accordance with the provision of the Articles of Association of the Panel.

Mr McDonald was called to the Bar in July 1986 and called to the Inner Bar in October 2000.  Mr McDonald practices primarily in commercial law.

The Irish Takeover Panel is the statutory body responsible for monitoring and supervising takeovers and other relevant transactions in relevant companies in Ireland.


Section 6(1)(c) of the Irish Takeover Panel Act 1997 provides that the Governor of the Central Bank shall nominate and appoint the chairperson and deputy chairperson.