Successful teams from first round of Generation €uro Students’ Award announced

08 December 2016 Press Release

• Highest number of entries since the competition began in 2011
• Over 350 students from 82 teams entered
• Successful teams will now compete in the essay round

The Central Bank of Ireland has announced the teams that have successfully progressed to Round 2 of the Generation €uro Students’ Award. The competition, run by the Central Bank in association with the European Central Bank, challenges Transition Year and 5th Year students across Ireland to learn about monetary policy.

Now in its 6th year, the competition received a record number of entries, with 82 teams, consisting of 350 students, partaking in the first round quiz.

The following schools will participate in Round 2:

• Carndonagh Community School, Donegal
• Coláiste an Spioraid Naoimh, Cork
• Coláiste Bhríde, Wicklow
• Coláiste Muire, Clare
• Confey College, Kildare
• Gonzaga College, Dublin
• Institute of Education, Dublin
• Loreto Secondary School, Donegal
• Newbridge College, Kildare
• Patrician High School, Monaghan
• Salerno Secondary School, Galway
• Scoil Mhuire, Cork
• St Anne’s Secondary School, Tipperary
• St. Aloysius' College, Cork
• St. Brendan’s College, Kerry
• St. Brigid’s Secondary school, Kerry
• St. Gerald’s College, Mayo
• St. Leo's College, Carlow
• St. Joseph's Patrician College, Galway
• The High School, Dublin

Teams will now compete in an essay round in which they explain the factors that affect price stability and the role of monetary policy measures; determine an appropriate interest rate for the ECB’s main refinancing operations, and assess economic conditions in the euro area on the basis of data available to the Governing Council of the ECB.
The deadline for submitting completed essays is 31 January 2017 and the top three teams will compete at the National Final next March.


The Generation €uro Students’ Award is a euro area-wide initiative organised by the European Central Bank (ECB) and participating national central banks across the euro area, including the Central Bank of Ireland.
The competition calls on transition year and fifth year students to simulate the role of the ECB’s Governing Council in determining the appropriate monetary policy decision for the euro area.

The competition consists of three rounds including an online quiz, a group assignment and a presentation by three finalist teams to a panel of senior economists at the Central Bank of Ireland.

The winning team and teacher represent Ireland at the ECB’s awards event in Frankfurt in April 2017 where they will meet ECB President Mario Draghi and the other winning teams from across Europe.

Additional information and resources for both students and teachers are available on the Central Bank website, the competition’s Facebook page and the ECB website.

Key dates:
Round 1: Online Quiz: 10 October 2016 - 2 December 2016
Round 2: Written analysis: 12 December 2016 - 31 January 2017
Round 3: National Final at the Central Bank of Ireland: 3 March 2017
Round 4: European Award Event at the ECB: 5 April 2017